top of page

Just Do What I Tell You


I was ready to get out of my mother's house and for the most part have been on my own since I was 19 years old. I didn't really have a plan, I just wanted to get out. I felt out of place, didn't feel I fit in and wanted to get out, so I did. I landed at my father's house and soon left there to attend college. Things would have been easier if I had listened and taken a scholarship, but I was rebellious and decide I didn't want to go to the college that wanted me. I made a lot of mistakes in my early twenties, some that still impact my life.

When I was about 24 years old my mother sat me down and told me that I needed to learn to love myself which I thought odd at the time. She also told me that I needed to listen to her, do what she told me to do and things will work out. I thought I knew what I was doing when I left my mother's house at such a young age, but I didn't know anything. I had structure, knowledge and wisdom, but I just wanted to leave and do what I wanted to do.

In the first few chapters of Ezekiel, we are told of the the Children of Israel's long history of sin and continuous disobedience to God and eventually, God's discipline to destroy the Children of Israel. God had sent many prophets to remind Israel of its disobedience, but they refused to listen and do what God asked, to put Him first.

We all have a rebellious nature, some more than others. The majority of us know when we have pushed the envelope of life just so far and decide to stop and listen to good advice at friends and family have given us.

But then there are there are some that push the envelope of life so far that its difficult to recover. Life is hard, each day presents a new set of problems, nothing ever seem to go right, happy days are few, every one step forward results in two steps backwards. Seems as if the whole world is against you. That you have little to no options, there is no hope, no chance for you to start moving forward or recovering what you have lost.

If you would just listen, like I should have to my mother's advice before I ran out of her house on my own. If you would just listen like the Children of Israel should have to the many prophets God sent to convince them of His love and commitment to them. But we don't, we listen to others talking in our ears (social media, associates, friends, cultural and business trends, even enemies). But if we would only listen to God, read His Word, believe that His Word applies to us and then just do what he tell us - we would be alright.

The world is always turning, life is always changing, but God stays the same. God never forces us to do His will, but He does call us ever so gently to come. Even when we choose to not listen, to be disobedient, to do life our way, He is still their patiently waiting for you to push life aside, listen to Him and just do what He tells you to do - love Him, love you, love everybody else.

And when you do, you will see your life align to God's Word and His purpose for your life and all that was so wrong will have a new perspective and work together for good.

Romans 8:28-30, English Standard Version

28 And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good,for those who are called according to his purpose. 29 For those whom he foreknew he also predestined to be conformed to the image of his Son, in order that he might be the firstborn among many brothers.30 And those whom he predestined he also called, and those whom he called he also justified, and those whom he justified he also glorified.

Have a great day!

With Love,

Brinda Devine

Brinda Devine, is the author of her signature book, Discover Your Value, Discover Your Purpose. Her second book, Authentication Process is scheduled for release in 2020. Brinda is also the founder of Purpose8 Institute, an organization with a mission to tell and teach the importance of discovering individual purpose in God's kingdom

You can find more at:

www.brindadevine.com, facebook.com/discoveryourpurpose8 and on Instagram @discoveryourpurpose8


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Email: bddevine@gmail.com

Phone: (248) 219-6685

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

©2018 by Purpose8. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page