top of page

Stronghold/ Take Up Your Cross


I truly believe that we should share our personal journeys of faith and purpose.

We often have this image in our minds that once we accept Christ as our Savior that everything will be alright and that's true a good portion of the time. The initial challenge comes when we start to really believe and step out on faith towards what God has called us to do with our lives, our purpose. More challenges come when we make the choice to take up own cross and follow God. And more challenges come to rock our faith when we attempt to take the vision God has placed in our hearts make it tangible outside of our own minds.

The past couple of weeks or so, I have not been myself. I have been agitated, distracted and having random negative thoughts throughout my days. When I tried to pray, I just didn't know what to pray for because I really didn't understand what was going on with me.

Last year, God solidified a vision in my heart for Purpose8 Institute. I have looked at four properties and with each one there has been a problem specific to finances - price, unknown repairs, unclean title. Each time I move close to finalize a property something happens and the deal does not go through. For months, I wondered whether I was moving too fast and really God did not want me to purchase a building to house Purpose8 Institute.

Yesterday, I went to church and during my pastor's wonderful message I asked the Holy Spirit to give me revelation of what was troubling me. During worship, the Holy Spirit started to reveal to me my fears and identify my faults. Later in the day, I had some time to myself and I listened to a powerful message from Pastor TD Jakes called, The Power Of A Thought and the Holy Spirit gave me more revelation on what had been happening to me.

Each time I pursue the mission of Purpose8 Institute, to take the mission of purpose to another level, I was being attacked with my own personal fear - finances as a stronghold against me. Looking back now I see the plan, control my thoughts, my fears, discouragement all draining me, distracting me from my purpose.

I never even considered spiritual warfare which was a mistake on my part. However, now that I am aware, I will make more room for God. Room to pray more, to seek His presence, for strength, and to focus on His Word and His purpose.

I am reminded in Matthew 16:24-26, that Jesus never said that following Him would be easy:

Then Jesus told his disciples, “If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross and follow me. 25 For whoever would save his life[a] will lose it, but whoever loses his life for my sake will find it. 26 For what will it profit a man if he gains the whole world and forfeits his soul? Or what shall a man give in return for his soul?

Wishing you a wonderful day. I pray that God gives us discernment, revelation and knowledge in every situation.

With Love,

Brinda Devine

Brinda Devine, is the author of her signature book, Discover Your Value, Discover Your Purpose. Her second book, Authentication Process is scheduled for release in 2020.

You can find more at:

www.brindadevine.com, facebook.com/discoveryourpurpose8 and on Instagram @discoveryourpurpose8


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Email: bddevine@gmail.com

Phone: (248) 219-6685

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

©2018 by Purpose8. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page