top of page

Rejection


Yesterday, I was trying to convince someone the benefit of introducing themselves to a stranger that shared a common interest in sports. They were adamant that they did not want to introduce themselves and didn't want me to arrange an introduction either. At first I thought its was about them being shy or inconvenienced, I later realized their reason was based on their fear of rejection.

This morning, I was thinking about how easy it is to encourage and talk to people about purpose, but then so difficult for them to wrap their minds round that purpose is for them. Then I had an epiphany, the reason is the fear of rejection.

What is bewildering to me is that I know about rejection, I have lived it on many levels personally and professionally. But the connection did not occur to me until this morning.

When I started in this ministry, I had a heart willing to serve God, but I had a lot personal hurts and emotional baggage holding me down. The #1 problem I had was emotional rejection from my childhood. Everybody experiences some level of rejection, some more than others, some deeper than others. My problem growing up into adult hood is that I didn't know how to process those negative emotions to see myself as confident and powerful. So the old emotions of my past festered and and grew deeper as I became an adult. It was not until I truly started having a real relationship with God and believe what He said about me in His Word that I was given the tools to then change out those negative emotions for powerful thoughts and emotions.

Rejection has been found to be linked to anger and hostility issues, aggression, low self-esteem, emotional instability and a pessimistic viewpoint of people and the world we live in.

So today, I want you to consider if rejection is impacting your life in any way - socially, mentally, financially, your career, business, your relationships with family and friends.

But most importantly, whether the fear of rejection impacting your pursuit of purpose.

Are you allowing old emotions from the past to impact God's plan for your life today? Something to consider.

Psalm 139:13-16 says,

For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother's womb.

I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.[a] Wonderful are your works;my soul knows it very well. My frame was not hidden from you,when I was being made in secret, intricately woven in the depths of the earth. Your eyes saw my unformed substance;

in your book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me,

when as yet there was none of them.

Have a wonderful day.

Much Love,

Brinda Devine

Brinda Devine, is the author of her signature book, Discover Your Value, Discover Your Purpose. Her second book, Authentication Process is scheduled for release in 2020.

You can find more at:

www.brindadevine.com, facebook.com/discoveryourpurpose8 and on Instagram @discoveryourpurpose8


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Email: bddevine@gmail.com

Phone: (248) 219-6685

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

©2018 by Purpose8. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page