top of page

Denial


In psychiatry, denial is described as a defense mechanism in which the existence of unpleasant internal or external realities is denied and kept out of conscious awareness. By keeping the stressors out of consciousness, they are prevented from causing anxiety. Denial is tricky because most of us don't even know that is where we are, that is our state of mind. Settling to live in the past because we are too afraid to deep dive into our emotions, our hurts and realign our past to our present. I lived in denial a long time and told myself I was happy, but the hurt was evident in everything I did, said and thought, even my love. Hope you take the time to wake up and pull off those layers of denial that are holding you back from what God has for you and from what you desire in this life. Live and be free. I love it! Have a great day! Much Love, Brinda Devine Here is daily devotional from Chapter 8: Conform, from my new book, The Authentication Process (soon to be released) Chapter 8: Conform Day 4: Some people think they know us, but they really don't. There is the person we want the world to see and then there is that "other" person that pops up from time to time. You know - the one with the attitude. The one that refuses to acknowledge and deal with personal issues and takes it out on others. One of the examples I like to use is a white robe covered with my personal issues: pride, jealousy, envy, fear, etc. Believe me, there are more, but you get the point. Now in your mind, picture your own white robe and start writing the personal issues you will acknowledge. Believe me, I know there are more, there are always more - some we know, some we didn't even realize are there. Now what happens when we (you, me and others) have on our white robes with our personal issue and we meet? What happens when there is a disagreement? What happens when we get married? What happens when we have children? What happens at our jobs and businesses? Answer: chaos, anger, harsh words, misunderstandings. But some of us don't want to take that marked up white robe off because it’s comfortable and because we think - that is who we are. But really, how has that been working for you? Really? I know all about it. I am the queen of denial, but you have to start somewhere. If you want better you have to do better. For me, there is nothing so sad as watching someone passionately tell me why they have to continue to hold onto to their marked up white robe. The same marked up robe that steals their joy and keeps them bound and powerless. Believe me, a better life is on the other side of your personal issues. God can heal every hurt.


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Email: bddevine@gmail.com

Phone: (248) 219-6685

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

©2018 by Purpose8. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page